Yesterday, September 17th, was my birthday!

For the first time in my life, I decided not to tell anyone it was my birthday.  You may think it’s no big deal, but for me, it’s HUGE!  You see, I LOVE CELEBRATING MY BIRTHDAY and I love presents too!  The more the merrier!

Recently, God placed me in a situation where I was exposed to women that didn’t want to share their birthday with others.  Honestly, I thought it was the strangest thing I had ever seen.  Emotional intelligence became the topic of discussion and I learned that “doing unto others as you would have done to you” doesn’t always work out the way you thought.  I learned that some people are private and for one reason or another, they don’t want to share their personal information with anyone else.  So, I thought I’d give it a try myself this year.  I didn’t like it.

Some of the people that remembered my birthday are highlighted below:

The first person to wish me a Happy Birthday was my mother-in-law.  She sent me a text message early in the morning and my father-in-law delivered this beautiful card (and gift) later in the day.  I LOVED IT!

20140918_174632

 The next person to wish me a Happy Birthday was my recently located SISTER!  In April 2014 she discovered she had a baby sister and in September she made my birthday a priority.  Not only did she text me a Happy Birthday message in the morning, a birthday card was waiting for me in the mailbox when I got home!

Diane and Me May 2014  20140918_174644

Later in the day, I received a voice message from someone I currently work with wishing me a Happy Birthday.  I have NO IDEA HOW HE FOUND OUT it was my birthday!  But I was touched!  A little later in the day, I received an email Happy Birthday wish from a lady I worked with about eight years ago!  Out of the blue!  I was SHOCKED and touched!  A few minutes later my supervisor’s supervisor came to my desk to wish me a Happy Birthday.  I don’t know how she knew it was my birthday because I decided not to tell anyone at work!

After I left the office for the day, my husband and children all wished me a Happy Birthday.  My husband made sure I had a special Birthday dinner and my daughters helped!

Family Christmas 2013

My son and Granddaughter called to SING HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!  What a special treat!

Peter and Harper

When I jumped on Facebook, I received Happy Birthday wishes from three very special women!  One friend from Church, one friend from childhood, and one from work and Church!

Margie Stallings Heidi Labowski Carolyn Marshall

Today, I received a VERY SPECIAL Birthday card in the mail.  The VERY FIRST Birthday card I ever received from my birth-mother.  If it weren’t for her, I would never have had a birthday to celebrate.  I’m extremely grateful!

20140918_174427

I decided, even though I never requested permission, I JUST HAVE to share her picture with you.  I have a feeling you’ll notice the resemblance.

20140918_202927

2 thoughts on “Yesterday, September 17th, was my birthday!”

  1. Theresa — Thank you so much for sharing your journey to connect with your birth family. We are so very glad that you were able to have such a happy reunion!! Our best wishes for more happy times together as you share memories of the past and to know the best is yet to come!! Love you, Chuck & Carolyn P.S. HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!c

    1. Chuck and Carolyn,

      You have no idea how much I admire, respect and appreciate your kindness over the years. Your entire family holds a very special place in my heart and always will!

      I have been blessed by God’s Hand my entire life – to including His leading me to Carolyn Marshall – and then to Northside. My life would have lacked much without the guidance from the leadership at Northside over the years (to include YOU!). I appreciate your reading my posts and promise to keep them coming as long as I can!

Leave a Reply

