FABULOUS MAILBOX SURPRISE!

If you’ve been following my blog for any length of time, you’re familiar with the recent discovery of my birth mother.  You may have read the post I wrote concerning Social Service’s contact with my birth mother and her agreement to share her identity with me.  If you haven’t read the posts, and are interested in doing so, they start here:

https://theresahaskinssharinglife.wordpress.com/2014/04/03/today-april-2-2014-i-received-a-phone-call-i-thought-would-never-come/

On July 31, 2014, I was reunited with my birth mother for the first time.  You can read the announcement here:

https://theresahaskinssharinglife.wordpress.com/2014/07/30/july-31-2014-will-mark-18932-days/

I have been pondering what to write about our reunion ever since I returned home on August 3, 2014.  To be honest, it is extremely difficult to articulate how I felt when I never dreamed I would ever find my birth mother, let alone meet her.

If you weren’t adopted, it’s difficult to explain the awkwardness of meeting your birth mother (at the age of 51), after being raised by an AMAZING mother, while your birth mother was mothering her other children.  The realization that I wasn’t missed, while realizing there was no reason for me to have been missed, I didn’t miss her (or any of them) either.  Our family designs were ultimately coordinated by the Creator of the Universe and I was loved beyond measure.

When I returned home afterward, I wasn’t sure what happened next.  I wasn’t sure how the rest of MY family would be integrated into this new family or if any of them (on EITHER SIDE) would want to be.  So many questions.  So many uncertainties.

When I came home today, I checked the mail to find a package from my birth mother.  Although the envelope was addressed to me, the package contained birthday gifts for both of my daughters.  The gifts were beautifully packaged and I was so excited to delivery them to each of my daughters.  I was speechless when they opened the boxes and revealed their very special gifts.

 20140825_173912

20140825_173845

20140825_173828

Stay tuned….

Leave a Reply

