An AMAZING Author and An AMAZING Story

HP Weekend

Harry Potter Weekend on ABC Family

#Potterhead

HP Logo

You may or may not be familiar with the Harry Potter movies.  You may or may not know the movies were based on a series of books written by an unknown author by the name of J K Rowling.  By this time, you most likely know J K Rowling is a female author who became a HUGE success (she is now the richest woman in Britain – and possibly the WORLD) when her Harry Potter books became a world-sensation years ago.

JK Rowling and the Kids Older

When the books initially came out, I remember there being MUCH Christian turmoil over them.  The idea of books written about wizards turned several Christian adults in a tail-spin.  Initially, I was not one bit interested in the Harry Potter books or movies, UNTIL I read the story of J K Rowling’s personal life.  Although I read the biography (and watched a movie about her life a few years later), there are only a few details I remember.  First and foremost, J K Rowling had NOTHING when she wrote her first Harry Potter book.  When I say nothing, I MEAN NOTHING!  She was extremely POOR!  And as I shared above, she is now the RICHEST woman in Britain!  I don’t know about you, but I LOVE THAT!  I love a fairy tale ending!  I love that publishers turned down her first Harry Potter book – as if it wasn’t a worthy read.  I bet those publishers kicks themselves EVERY DAY for that decision.  I believe I’m correct in remembering that Scholastic paid the most they had EVER paid for a children’s book – $1 million dollars.

Potter Books

Another detail I remember, SEVERAL of her “friends” turned their backs on her when she was down and out.  When she asked for help, they told her NO (and they probably gave her a list of excuses to justify why they couldn’t help).   I have a feeling those “friends” kick themselves EVERY DAY too!  (Not because they aren’t privy to her wealth – but because of the constant reminder every time they see the name J K Rowling or the name Harry Potter – of their unwillingness to help a friend.)

But the most worthy detail I remember occurred Friday evening, July 20. 2007.  At the time, my girls were in daycare and summer daycare expenses (full time care every week) required me to obtain a part-time job to make ends meet.  I LOVED my part time job – I worked at a Barnes and Noble bookstore.  That night I was REQUIRED to work – along with EVERY OTHER EMPLOYEE at EVERY BARNES AND NOBLE bookstore – EVERY BOOKSTORE IN THE WORLD!  The morning of July 21, 2007 the 7th and final book in the Harry Potter series was being released.  Literally at 00:01 in the morning the cash registers began singing at our store – and with EVERY REGISTER OPEN – they continued to sing for more than 2 hours (non-stop)!  I have never experienced so much excitement in my life!

 Harry_Potter_and_the_Deathly_Hallows_(US_cover)

The festivities began hours before the sales (Harry Potter games and treats with employees dressed in Harry Potter garb) with THOUSANDS of customers inside AND outside the store – waiting to purchase their copy of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows!  Keep in mind, these thousands of individuals were standing in line for HOURS to purchase a BOOK!  They were a small portion of the many people visiting bookstores all over the world to purchase The Deathly Hallows.  It was reported the first 24 hour sales totalled 8.3 million copies  (the fastest selling book in history!)  I would LOVE to be able to write a book that MILLIONS of people (old and young alike) would stand in line to purchase at MIDNIGHT – and return home to READ ALL NIGHT!

If you’ve read the Harry Potter books or watched the movies, you know that GOOD ALWAYS DEFEATS EVIL!   You know that Harry Potter was a nice young man who always CHOSE good and always did the right thing.  He was a good role model for all of us today.  Concerning the wizardry – I don’t really pay too much attention to it.  It’s a make-believe world – simply stated, it’s make believe.  If I’ve sparked your interest in Harry Potter – it’s NOT TOO LATE!!!  The bookstores still sell the books and the movies still air on television from time to time.  If all else fails, you can purchase the DVDs!

Potter Crew

Leave a Reply

