Lasting Appreciation for a simple word

A few years ago, a good friend’s daughter used a creative word (actually, it was a real word spoken differently), which has become a regular word in MY vocabulary! I find myself using the word frequently – especially with my precious granddaughter, Harper. I also use the word with my own daughters, but for a very different reason.

This past Grandbaby night (Thursday night last week) was one of those precious times with Harper. If you live IN or NEAR Virginia Beach, you may remember the TERRIBLE thunderstorm that night. The thunder was SO LOUD it was actually scary to me (an adult)! Imagine how it must have sounded to a precious angel of 20 months.

One of our very special rituals is to go to Harper’s room (on the second floor) and look out her window at the golfers at the golf course across the street and the cars/bicyclists/pedestrians traveling down the street. We took advantage of our special time by looking out the window at the storm in a different light (HA! THAT WAS FUNNY – looking at lightening in a DIFFERENT LIGHT!). We watched the lightening and listened to the thunder as I used our “creative word” to describe God’s beauty displayed in a storm! The word is:

FARKLY

Every time we would see the lightening, I would joyfully call out FARKLY! I would remind Harper how beautiful the lightening was and how fortunate we were to be able to watch it! We were so engrossed with the beauty of the lightening; we didn’t even notice the sound of the thunder. I think the reason Harper and I enjoy our time spent together SO MUCH is because we simply enjoy each other. We don’t spend money, we don’t go to “place”, we simply hug, she sits on my lap, I kiss all over her face, and I CONSTANTLY tell her how much I love her! For Harper and I, that’s enough, that’s all we need.

Using the word “farkly” with my daughters reminds me of a very special time in our lives, and of a very special family. As a matter of fact, this family is still very dear to me (and to all of us).

And here’s a beautiful picture of our Special Family:

Image

Patti, Eric, Elanor and Aldrin Peters

Thank you Elanor for your AMAZING WORD!!!!  I think of YOU every time I use it!

 

Leave a Reply

