Telephone Call with my Birth Mother

Tuesday, June 3rd, was my birth-mother’s 77th birthday.  I called her for the very first time on Tuesday, April 15, 2014 (the day she gave social services permission to share her personal/contact information with me), and again on Friday, April 18th.  After that week, I didn’t call again for a while – actually, until her birthday.  There were several reasons I didn’t call – just to name a few:  1) I was afraid what I might say in casual conversation would unintentionally hurt her; 2) She might be sad when I shared about my life and how wonderful it was; 3) I was worried that by not calling her “mom,” it might hurt her feelings. 

When I called to wish her a Happy Birthday, although I was a bit nervous, I decided not to think about what I was saying and just talk.  I am so tickled to report that all my fears were just that – MY FEARS!  She was so sweet and funny.  We talked about so many things – and absolutely nothing I said bothered her one bit.  We talked for about two hours (I think).

It’s funny – when you grow up knowing you’re adopted, you never consider heredity in your everyday life.  Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t worry about it, I just never considered it.  The first thing I think about when I chat with my birth-mother is heredity.  If she says something that reminds me of me, I giggle.  I think, WOW!  I do that too!!!! 

What a wild adventure….I am incredibly blessed!

Leave a Reply

