Finishing (rather than going forward without finishing)

I have, from time to time, participated in P31 ministries on-line Bible studies.  As always, I get overwhelmed with life and never seem to finish them – although I am proud to say I did the majority of the last study.  

Image

The most recent P31 Bible Study – Living So That by Wendy Blight

This was the first book of Wendy’s I ever read – honestly, I must say, this is ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I HAVE EVER READ!  If you’re a reader, you will understand this statement:  Her book FLOWED perfectly!  Every page and chapter made perfect sense, was in the perfect order, and applied to my life (and no doubt, everyone else’s life too)!

I don’t remain consistent with my Bible study, either.  I’m too tired or too busy to get up early and spend time with Him.  It amazes me that EVERY TIME I make time for Him (even if I’m yawning), I am blessed beyond measure.  So, the question of the century, why do I ALWAYS fall short????  In my quiet time this morning, HE provided an answer (to be revealed shortly).

Tomorrow begins a NEW ONLINE STUDY.  I get really excited about NEW THINGS!  So, I started the book already!  I’m here to tell you it’s amazing too!  

Image

 

The next P31 Bible Study – Limitless Life by Derwin L. Gray

This morning, I picked up our new study and continuted reading where I left off yesterday.  Suddently it dawned on me – I never finished our last study and promised myself I would!  So, I picked up Living So That and went the page I left off a couple of weeks ago.

This was God’s message to me:   Let’s end today with 1 Corinthians 10:13.  Any temptation you face will be nothing new.  But God is faithful, and He will not let you be tempted beyond what you can handle.  But He always provides a way of escape so that you will be able to endure and keep moving forward.  (Bold emphasis added)

As long as we live in this world, we will not escape temptation because we have an enemy of our soul who “is prowling around…..like a roaring lion, just waiting, and hoping for the chance to devour someone” (1 Peter 5:8).  And we will never be free of temptation because the source of temptation lives within us….our flesh.  Our flesh is weak.  We give in to temptation when we don’t have the tools to combat it.

Being in the Word is essential to overcoming temptation.  Scripture reveals satan’s lies.  It keeps us alert to his schemes.  If we are not in the Word and not alert, temptation creeps in.  Little by little, it causes us to make little compromises.  The more compromises we make, the easier it becomes to give in, until the temptation finally overtakes us.  

If we compromise long enough we reach something that John of the Cross, sixteenth-century monk and great devotion writer, called “the dark night of the soul.”  We enter into a time of darkness and hopelessness.  The pleasure we once experienced in our relationship with God dissipates.  Feelings of joy and delight vanish.  We feel alone.  God feels distant. We no longer hear His voice.  We no longer sense His presence.

God uses this “dark night” as a purifying place.

Please join me as I end today’s post with a deeply sincere prayer:

Dear Father, I BEG You to help me discover a workable plan to stay in Your Word DAILY!  Not simply reading a few Scriptures, but spending considerable time with You in Your Word.  You are my loving Father and I am your devoted daughter.  Please help me become more disciplined each and every day and devoted to reading Scripture daily.  In Your Son’s Precious Name I Pray, Amen.

3 thoughts on “Finishing (rather than going forward without finishing)”

  1. Wow, I couldn’t have said this better Theresa. I feel like you climbed in my brain and wrote exactly some of the struggles I’ve been having. Thank you so much for sharing this. I’m on my 3rd P31 OBS and I WILL finish this one! I join with you in your prayer… for you and for myself!

    1. Audra, As I was typing my post, a part of me was ashamed to be so honest. And then, I had a God-thought, I bet I’m not the only one! Maybe God had me post it for BOTH OF US! I’ll be praying for you too, friend! Thank you for sharing with me!

  2. We are in the flesh living in an imperfect world…….This is when we have to “put on the armor of GOD” as we go about our day to day routine…..Temptation starts the minute we wake up in the morning. It is so easy to get caught up in our day to day routine that GOD and reading our Bible is the last thing we want to do…..but when I realize Jesus probably did not want to die on the cross for us but knew it was the will of His Father. So when I feel too tired to read my Bible and do my daily study….I am reminded that Jesus had to been totally exhausted from the beating, torture and hanging on that cross for me……God loved each one of us…..and all this had to take place in order for the plan of salvation to be made possible…..

Leave a Reply

