My favorite place in the world

Many, many years ago, I went to a ladies retreat at Camp Rudolph (http://camprudolph.org/); a camp located in Yale, Virginia.  Our Church, Northside Christian Church (http://northsidecc.org/), has been supporting this camp as far back as I can remember (I started attending Northside in 1992).  As a matter of fact, my son accepted Jesus Christ as his savior at this camp!  He, bless his heart, went to Camp Rudolph PRIOR TO AIR CONDITIONING!  I remember packing a box fan every summer and he would say to me, “Mom, it just blows hot air around the room.”  In other words, it doesn’t help one bit (in keeping me cool)!

Although I’m confident the ladies retreat was AWESOME, that’s not the part I remember most.  I remember, waking very early in the morning (okay, maybe not THAT early – but still early, for a Saturday morning!), and heading outside with my Bible.  I remember sitting not too far from our cabin (I was a little scared), reading His Word in the beauty of His nature surrounding me.  It was a life changing experience.  I’m not sure at what point I made this stunning realization, but when I returned home and looked around my house, I noticed numerous trees in our own yard.  I remember thinking, His beauty in my own yard is no different than His beauty at Camp Rudolph.  What’s stopping me from communing with Him in His nature right here (as often as I want!).  In other words, I didn’t have to travel hours away from my home to enjoy HIM in nature – I had His nature AT HOME!

Although I love nature, I am picky about being IN nature.  In other words, when it’s 100 degrees outside (or even 90), I have NO DESIRE to be outside – SWEATING!  I would much rather be inside in the air-conditioning, looking OUT at nature (perfectly comfortable).  A few years ago, my husband hired someone to enclose our screened in porch so we could utilize the space as an additional year-round room.  Now, THAT’S WHAT I’M TALKING ABOUT!!!!  The best part about this room is that it’s surrounded by TREES!!!!  That’s right – it’s MY NATURE ROOM!!!!  

Image

Image

Image

 

I love to come to MY ROOM early in the morning, before anyone wakes up, and COMMUNE with my Father and His precious Son, Jesus Christ!  For the next few weeks, WE will be enjoying the book Limitless Life by Derwin L. Gray.  I started the book this morning and I wish EVERYONE would go GRAB a copy and join me!  I can already tell this is going to be another LIFE CHANGING event!  The very first chapter addresses FEAR, and Pastor Gray hits the ground running!  Just below the Chapter heading, he includes this powerful quote by Nelson Mandela:

“I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it.  The brave man is not

he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.”

PLEASE join me on this amazing journey….(click the icon below for details!)

Image

Leave a Reply

