Sixth of a Million Memories

Our family had a tradition at New Year’s too! My grandmother (my dad’s mother) would send our family a box of summer sausage and cheese for Christmas. Every year, we would save the entire box, adding homemade cookies, fudge, toffee, peanut brittle, and a few store bought treats, to RING IN the new year together as a family! We always set the cardtable up in the den, put all the treats on the table, and watched the ball drop in New York City with Dick Clark! Every single year as far back as I can remember.

Grandma Huntingon

Grandma Huntington and my dad’s brother, Uncle Sidney on the front steps at Grandma’s house

As I mentioned in a previous post, my dad worked shift work at Amoco; creating concern some years (when he worked the 4-12 midnight shift). I remember being so nervous that Dad might get home late – missing THE NEW YEAR moment! It meant a lot to me that he be there to celebrate with us; completing our family. I was a REAL daddy’s girl! I am very happy to report he NEVER let me down! He was ALWAYS there by midnight!

My mom dad and me

My Mom, my Dad and me in our Living Room in the home where I grew up in Yorktown, VA.  Is it obvious how much I adored me dad?

 

Leave a Reply

