Fifth of a Million Memories

In 1974, our parents celebrated their 30th wedding anniversary.  My sister, Tammy, and I wanted to do something special to celebrate their anniversary! 

Our dad worked at the Amoco Oil Refinery in Yorktown for many years.  As a matter of fact, that’s the reason my parents moved to the state of Virginia.  My dad was originally from South Dakota and relocated to Illinois/Indiana at some point in his school years.  My mom was from Illinois and they met when they worked at an A&P grocery store at the same time.  My dad was a stock boy and my mom worked in produce.  THAT’S a story for another post!  

I’m not sure exactly what my dad did at Amoco, I just know he worked really hard.  He also worked shift work; if memory serves his schedule changed every week.  It’s funny, as a child I didn’t think it was a big deal.  However, as an adult, I have NO IDEA how he did it!  

He worked with a woman by the name of Andy Carver (I think) and she baked special decorative cakes.  My parents bought cakes from her every now and then for very special occasions.  I don’t remember how we did it, but my sister and I secretly had her bake a special anniversary cake for my parents; and my sister and I waited up until midnight (when dad came home from work) to surprise them!  I remember them being so touched (and surprised)!  It’s the simple things in life that matter most.

Leave a Reply

